A Walk Down Memory Lane for a Once Inspired Writer

Every so often I rummage through old boxes of cobwebs to look for some long lost treasure of old Deco Markers or an artist colored pencil set; today I found the treasure of all treasures….. A personal notebook filled with teen angst and puberty poetry.

IMG_0512

Known as Samie Katt since 2007 haha

I read a particular excerpt I wrote on July 11, 2007 at 15 almost 16 years old and I cannot believe how much more I relate to it now being 24 years old than I did at 15.

Lately I have been having a beginning of life crisis (what I like to call it) as to what I am doing with my life and where am I headed for this bleak looking future of mine. This juvenile passage brought a smile to lips in the sense that I cannot believe that this came from a naive teen who though 21 was old. I admit I was going through some rough spots back then, but nothing compared to the crucial times of a 24 year old trying to figure out the rest of her life.

So here I present to you a Samie Katt original, never read by anyone but me.

Remember the good old days of being a kid

When it didn’t matter what you said or did

You didn’t care about your height or weight

Your heart was fragile but would never break

You never felt the pain of losing someone

All that mattered was just having fun

It didn’t matter what you looked like or what you would wear

You could act like a dork and no one would care

It didn’t matter when they told you that you would never fly

You’d just imagine what it would be like to be in the sky

You played until the day turned to night

The dark was your only fright

You laughed until your sides were sore

Life was good what more could you ask for

You didn’t have the problems you have today

Like boys, parents, and the mean things people say

You found beauty in every little thing

From rocks, to dirt, even the feather of a birds wing

What would I give to go back to the day

When we were happy and all we did was play

Now they’re just memories lost in our head

Every laugh, every step, every word that was said

Remember the good old days of being a kid

When it didn’t matter what you said or did………

Leave a Reply

